Curriculum Vitae Awards and Honours Books Academic Papers Popular Writings Current Projects Creative Expressions Home


Officer of the Order of Agricultural Merit, Government of France, 2017    
Honorary doctorate, University of Antwerp Pictures    
Honorary doctorate, ISS The Hague Speech (text) Pictures Interview
Padma Shri Pictures    
International Balzan Prize 2017 Acceptance speech      
Louis Malassis International Scientist Prize 2017        
Leontief Award 2009-2010
See Link Pictures Interview
First Ramesh Chandra Agrawal Award 2005 for Outstanding Contributions to Agricultural Economics.
Malcolm Adiseshiah Award 2002 for Distinguished Contributions to Development Studies.
BOOK AWARDS for A Field of One’s Own: Gender and Land Rights in South Asia.

• Ananda Kentish Coomaraswamy Book Prize 1996, given by the Association for Asian Studies (USA), for the best English-language, non-fiction book on South Asia, published anywhere. (First South Asian to win the prize.)

Edgar Graham Book Prize 1996, given every two years by the Department of Development Studies, School of Oriental and African Studies (Univ. of London) for works of original scholarship on agricultural and/or industrial development in Asia and/or Africa. (First Asian to win the prize.)

• The K. H. Batheja Award 1995-96 given every two years by the Batheja Trust (Bombay University) for the best works in Indian Economic Development.

MacArthur Research and Writing Grant for Individuals, 1990-91, The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Chicago.

Bunting Institute, Radcliffe, Harvard University: Bunting Fellowship, 1989-90.
Miranda House, University of Delhi: Prize for Best Academic Record in Economics, 1970; First Prizes in essay competitions, Dept of Economics, 1968, 1969.